Tuesday, February 13, 2018

Malaysia Stamps - Garden Flowers State Definitive Series Kelantan - February 13, 2018

Created these First Day Covers including variants using previous stamps issue and older First Day Cover at Pulau Pinang General Post Office.

Tuesday, January 30, 2018

Malaysia Stamps - Ornamental Fish - January 30, 2018 Issue

Keeping fresh water aquarium fish had been a childhood hobby. The 4 fishes shown are Harlequin rasbora, Pearl gourami, Malaysian Mahseer or Kelah or Wangbuliao which is an expensive edible fish too, and Golden Arowana kept for good fortune by business community and homes.

I visited 4 post offices in 3 states. PULAU PINANG - George Town General Post Office in Penang Island; TAMAN CHAI LENG in Penang Mainland as "CHAI LENG" sounds like "kim leng" - the Chinese Hokkein pronounciation of golden arowana; SUNGAI PETANI in Kedah as "Sungai" is "River" in Malay; and PARIT BUNTAR in Perak as "Parit" is "Drain or Canal" in Malay. Freshwater fish lives in rivers and drains/canals.

I also included the previous 2016 stamp issue of Seven Wonders of Malaysia's Flora & Fauna of Malaysian Mahseer (Kelah )to create hybrid FDC. Enjoy viewing.

Thursday, January 18, 2018

Malaysia Stamps - Working Dogs (Year of Dog) - January 18, 2018 Issue

Awesome start in 2018 with this issue of Working Dogs (Border Collier, Belgian Shepherd, Golden Retriever, German Shepherd, Labrador) to celebrate this lunar Year of Dog. I enjoyed creating different First Day Covers at Penang General Post Office and Dato Kramat Post Office for my own collection. This is the batch. Will upload more different versions later. Enjoy viewing.

Malaysia Stamps - Year 2018 Stamp Schedule (Updated January 18, 2018)

Note: This is a tentative list that will regularly updated and subject to last minute change without notice by Pos Malaysia.

Jan 18 Thu - Animal with Special Roles - Working Dogs (Year of Dog 2018)
Jan 30 Tue - Ornamental Fishes
Feb 13 Tue - State Definitive Series - Kelantan

Feb 27 Tue - Rivers in Malaysia
Mar 5 Mon - 100th Anniversary of Yu Hua High School
Mar 20 Tue - Electric Train Service (ETS)
Apr 10 Tue - Traditional Music Instruments - Series II
Apr 24 Tue - Malaysian Citrus
May 8 Tue - Historic Museum in Malaysia
May 22 Tue - Wild Fruits of Malaysia
Jun 26 Tue - Tourist Destinations Sabah
Jul 10 Tue - Traditional Craftmanships
Jul 24 Tue - Unique Structures
Aug 14 Tue - Types of Blowpipe
Sep 4 Tue - National Day and Malaysia Day
Sep 14 Fri - 100th Anniversary of Chung Hwa School
Oct 1 Mon - World Cancer Congress Malaysia 2018
Oct 9 Tue - World Post Day
Oct 9 Tue - 100th Anniversary of Jit Sin High School
Oct 22 Mon - Installation of Sultan of Kedah
Nov 12 Mon - Malaysian Lifestyle - Series II (Stamp Week)
Dec 4 Tue - State Definitive Series - Orchid




Tuesday, December 19, 2017

Malaysia Stamps - #Kitajuara Kuala Lumpur 2017 - Special Cover Issue

This last item in 2017 is a preprinted stamped First Day Cover to celebrate the success of Kuala Lupur 2017 ASEAN Games. I was not in Malaysia and so bought this cover later from a stamp dealer for my collection. It is cancelled in Kulim, Kedah.

Monday, December 4, 2017

Malaysia Stamp - 150 Years Straits Settlements Stamps - Permanent Issue - December 1, 2017 Issue

I visited Penang Main Post Office at Downing Street, George Town in Penang Island and created these First Day Covers. I also used Singapore 150 Years Straits Settlements and Malaysia 150 Years Straits Settlements Provision Issue stamps and First Day covers and Penang Philatelic Society Souvenir Covers to create hybrid combo covers of these 3 stamp issues for my collection interest. I had earlier visited Singapore General Post Office to purchase stamp, First Day Cover and do cancellation myself. Enjoy viewwing.

Malaysia Stamp - Children's Holiday Activities - Stamp Week 2017 - December 4, 2017 Issue

I created these First Day Covers at Penang Main Post Office.

Monday, November 27, 2017

Malaysia Stamps - Tourist Destinations - Pahang, Perak, Terengganu - November 21, 2017 Issue

For this issue, I was motivated to travel to all 3 states of Perak (Kuala Kangsar), Pahang (Temerloh, Jerantut, Kuantan, Pekan, Sungai Lembing) and Terengganu (Dungun, Kuala Terengganu) to get the various First Day Cover and Post Office cancellations.

Tuesday, November 7, 2017

Malaysia Stamp - 150th Anniversary Sarawak State Legislative Assembly - November 8, 2017 Issue

I created these First Day Covers at Penang Main Post Office, George Town and received First Day Cover cancelled in Kuching, Sarawal.



Thanks to Tan of Kuching.




Thanks to Anny of Kuching.




Thanks to Angela of Kuching.